Rowing Down a River – NaPoWriMo 2017 – Day fifteen – prompt: a poem about middles

Rowing Down a River

.

I find myself in the middle of incredible

joy. I find myself in the middle of passion.

I have at times, found myself in the middle

of arguments. And at times I have been

in the middle of making difficult decisions.

.

I am neither above or below.

My mother was an only child.

Of her nine children, I was the one

in the middle. My middle name

belongs to my mother. My first

to my Dad.

.

I take the middle slice of cake, the middle

fruit from the tree. My house is neither

top or bottom of the street. I have rowed

a raft down the middle of the river. I have

oft’ times found myself in the middle of love,

hope and peace. I know there will be other times

when I am in the middle of great sadness.

.

I think this is not the middle of the poem;

it is the end. I find myself in the middle

of a whole month writing poems. I find

myself in the middle of true passion.

Benita H. Kape © 15.4.2017

Last, but not least, here’s our prompt for the day (optional, as always!). Because we’re halfway through NaPoWriMo/GloPoWriMo today, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that reflects on the nature of being in the middle of something. The poem could be about being on a journey and stopping for a break, or the gap between something half-done and all-done. Half a loaf is supposedly better than none, but what’s the difference between half of a very large loaf and all of a very small one? Let your mind wander into the middle distance, betwixt the beginning of things and the end. Hopefully, you will find some poetry there!

Standard

Leave a Reply

