Breakfast – GloPoWriMo 2017 (pre-prompt, Haibun)

 Breakfast

At my back door, each day peaches fall from the high branches of my neighbour’s tree. Sometimes ants hitch a ride indoors on the peaches. I wash one or two and slice them into a plate for my breakfast. I decide to add Muesli. When I open the cupboard door I am greeted by two early morning moths. I wave them away and reach for a container not opened for two or three weeks. I peer in. I am alerted by the appearance of the already opened packet.

stored grain

larvae

on the move

It may be autumn, which officially began a month ago on the 1st of March, regardless I begin a thorough spring-clean of the food cupboards.

nostrils widen

the pungent

smells of autumn

Benita H. Kape © 31.3.2017

Standard

3 thoughts on “Breakfast – GloPoWriMo 2017 (pre-prompt, Haibun)

Leave a Reply

