Makariri te po – NaPoWriMo 2016 – Day 30 – translations

Makarri te po

Here a waiata tangi (a lament) written in collaboration with my dear friend Katarina Reedy. The title is part of the lament. Please go into the comments below where you can hear the beautiful rendition of Katarina sing this waiata tangi with the full resonance of the language.

Makariri te po
The Night is Cold

Ahiahi mārire
Quiet evening

Nga rangi hina
The grey skies

te whakararuraru i ahau.
Trouble me

Na reira
Therefore

Āta puta atu ra
Proceed slowly (out into the weather)

Makariri te po
The Night is Cold

He mokemoke ahau e.
And I am lonely

Benita H. Kape & Katarina Reedy  © 30.4.2016

I feel awed and humbled by a language (Maori – te reo) which is the language of my country. This is the first time I have attempted a poem in te reo. Forgive me if I display any errors. I have taken care. (I have made corrections after consultation with Katarina Reedy.) Tonight we were to write in another language, or to attempt a translation of a poem in a language not our own. A shaky start to te reo but hugely satisfying. Many thanks Bubbles.

The Night is Cold

Quiet evening
the grey skies
trouble me
proceed slowly

the night is cold
and I am lonely

Benita H. Kape © 30.4.2016

Standard

3 thoughts on “Makariri te po – NaPoWriMo 2016 – Day 30 – translations

Leave a Reply

