What’s for Lunch – NaPoWriMo 2016 – Day 26 – call & answer poem

glopo2016button2

School Holidays – What’s For Lunch

Are you hungry my darlings, my darlings?
Yes we are hungry, very hungry, mother dear.

Then whose turn is it to make lunch today, my darlings?
Whose turn? You ask mother darling; how about father?

Your father is out of town. He will be away all week I fear.
Is that mother, the reason you give us the scrapings, the scrapings?

The weather is cooler I suggest a light lunch of soup and toast!
Soup and toast mother? On soup and toast, we have long over-dosed.

Well, I give up. I’m not sure my cooking will ever please you my hungry darlings.
Quite right about that mother; can we go to ‘McDonalds’ or ‘Kentucky Fried Chicken’?

Just for today, mind you my hungry darlings. Just, for today.
Oh we love you, we love you mother darling. And tomorrow can we try Wendys?

Benita H. Kape © 26.4.2016

Ok, it’s salad not soup. But I’ve never been keen on cooking and my kids will tell you that. Though tonight I have on hand a very nice steak!

2nd lunch s8.9.2014

Standard

2 thoughts on “What’s for Lunch – NaPoWriMo 2016 – Day 26 – call & answer poem

Leave a Reply

