Enough is Enough – NaPoWriMo 2016 – Day 24

glopo2016button2Slippers on computer

Enough is Enough

This weakness I suffer from
ailurophile, though this lassitude,
an elixir mostly for one alone
and her name is Slippers Cat.
Selecting her, I write a poem
of suspect eloquence. Undeterred
she laps at her bowl on the floor.

Cats can be trained. I tap her nose
lightly and say NO to imbue her
with a few good manners. I foregive
her the moments she follows me to
the bathroom, (the sound of running
water as she sits near the sink). Some-
times it works as I reach for serendipity
in poems to her. Palimpsest, many
for her, haiku and free verse. In my
lounge chair drooling with her on my
lap or (when the training fails) as she –
flicking her tail under my nose crosses
the keyboard to get my attention. At
which time I declare her my nemesis .
Woebegone Slippers when I insist –
enough is enough.

Benita H. Kape © 25.4.2016

And last but not least, our prompt (optional, as always). Today I challenge you to write a “mix-and-match” poem in which you mingle fancy vocabulary with distinctly un-fancy words. First, spend five minutes writing a list of overly poetic words – words that you think just sound too high-flown to really be used by anyone in everyday speech. Examples might be vesper, heliotrope, or excelsior. Now spend five minutes writing words that you might use or hear every day, but which seem too boring or quotidian to be in a poem. Examples might be garbage disposal, doggy bag, bathroom. Now mix and match examples from both of your lists into a single poem. Hopefully you’ll end up with a poem that makes the everyday seem poetic, and which keeps your poetic language grounded

Standard

One thought on “Enough is Enough – NaPoWriMo 2016 – Day 24

Leave a Reply

