NaPoWriMo 2015 – Day 5 – to deconstruct then reconstruct an Emily Dickinson poem.

Emily Dickinson  – 520

 .

I started very early, took nothing and no one,

with me; but this, my open mind and heart

.

to the sea’s shore. Mermaids, already waiting,

waved, but did not speak though I saw the

.

questions on their faces. A similar curiosity,

I felt when Frigates in the upper floor extend

.

hempen hands presuming me to be a mouse

aground upon the sands. And now a wondrous

.

movement within me as the tide went past my

 simple shoe and past my apron and my belt

.

and past my bodice too, to meet those wet things

as wholly as a dew upon a dandelion’s sleeve and

.

then I started too, and the mermaids followed me.

Close behind I felt a sea of silver heels upon mine

.

own slim ankles. My shoes I let overflow with pearls,

though just as it began the jealous sea withdrew. He

.

saw I came alone and home alone; I am no bride to be.

Benita H. Kape © 6.4.2015

Standard

Leave a Reply

